Posted on 8th July 2015

Posted by Sophie

Tags: , , ,

Carys Davies wins the 2015 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award

CarysDavies_JacketHuge congratulations to 2015 Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize winner, Carys Davies and her publisher Salt, who have won the 2015 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award for The Redemption of Galen Pike!

“Though short in size, this collection punches well above its weight. The stories are clear, concise and full of depth. The sense of place, grasp of language and ability to hone in on the crux of an idea, all build into this fine, award-winning, collection.”

Carys was chosen out of a shortlist of six titles including Refund by Karen E Bender (Counterpoint Press); Mr Tall by Tony Earley (Little Brown); Infidelities by Kirsty Gunn (Faber); Crow Fair by Thomas McGuane (Knopf); and My Documents by Alejandro Zambra (Fitzcarraldo Press)

Previous winners of the €25,000 prize, the single most lucrative in the world for a short-story collection, include Edna O’Brien, Haruki Murakami, Ron Rash and Yiyun Li. Last year’s winner was the Irish author Colin Barrett for his collection Young Skins.

The Award is co-sponsored by Cork City Council and by The School of English, University College Cork and was founded to encourage publishers to issue more collections of stories by individual authors and to acknowledge Cork’s special relationship with the short story: not only Frank O’Connor but also William Trevor, Elizabeth Bowen and Sean O’Faolain hail from Cork.

Carys Davies will be presented with the award at the closing of the Cork International Short Story Festival in September.


No comments yet.

Leave a comment