Posted on 1st September 2015

Posted by joanna

Tags: , , , ,

Celebrating the Winners of the 2015 Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize 2015: Carys Davies

CarysDavies_JacketEvery week for the last seven, we have celebrated one of this year’s Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize winning authors.

This week we’re celebrating 2015 winner, Carys Davies who won with her short story collection, The Redemption of Galen Pike.

“Every story in this stunning collection is a gem and completely unlike what follows or precedes it. Davies’ diversity shows no bounds as she takes us from jails in the Wild West to a meeting with Queen Victoria, from Australian isolated farms to snowy Siberia where each time we meet fantastic characters with unlikely and unexpected tales to tell. I loved every single one.” – Simon Savidge, blogger and journalist

Keep an eye out for updates over the coming week and read a story from The Redemption of Galen Pike here.


CarysDaviesCarys Davies was the winner of the the 2010 Society of Authors’ Olive Cook Short Story Award, the 2011 Royal Society of Literature’s V S Pritchett Memorial Prize, a 2013 Northern Writers’ Award and the 2015  Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award. She has been shortlisted and longlisted for many other prizes including the Calvino Prize, the Manchester Fiction Prize, the Roland Mathias Prize, the Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award, the Wales Book of the Year, and the William Trevor/Elizabeth Bowen Prize. Born in Wales, she now lives in Lancaster.

The Redemption of Galen Pike is published by Salt.


No comments yet.

Leave a comment