Posted on 13th April 2016

Posted by joanna

Tags: , ,

Carys Davies announced amongst The New York Public Library’s Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers 2016-2017 Fellows

The New York Public Library’s Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers has selected its 18th class of Fellows: 15 exceptionally talented independent scholars, academics, and creative writers, whose work will benefit directly from access to the collections at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building. Chosen out of 310 applicants from 28 countries, the 2016 class of Cullman Center Fellows includes:

  • Fiction writers Carys Davies, Angela Flournoy, Daniel Kehlmann, Salvatore Scibona, Akhil Sharma
  • Poet Sally Wen Mao
  • Nonfiction writers Jon Gertner, Jennifer Homans, George Packer, Jonathan Stevenson
  • Academics Nicole Fleetwood, Hilary Hallett, Saidiya Hartman, Natan Meir, Michael Reynolds

“I am delighted to welcome this fantastic new class of Cullman Center Fellows to The New York Public Library,” said Tony Marx, President of NYPL. “Our amazing collections and expert staff will no doubt inspire fascinating and important new works.”

The 2016 class of Fellows will be in residence at the Cullman Center from September 2016 through May 2017. Each Fellow receives a stipend, a private office in the Cullman Center’s handsome quarters at The New York Public Library’s landmark Stephen A. Schwarzman Building at Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street, and full access to the renowned research collections and online resources there, as well as the invaluable assistance of the Library’s curatorial and reference staff. The projects the Fellows will work on during their tenure include: biographies of George Balanchine (Jennifer Homans), Richard Holbrooke (George Packer), Enver Pasha (Michael Reynolds), Elinor Glyn (Hilary Hallett), and Philip Agee (Jonathan Stevenson); story collections (Carys Davies and Akhil Sharma); a close look at Greenland in the era of climate change (Jon Gertner); studies of prison art (Nicole Fleetwood), daily life in the poorest neighborhoods of Philadelphia and New York around the turn of the 20th century (Saidiya Hartman), and outcasts of East European Jewish society in the modern period up to the Holocaust (Natan Meir); and novels about a group of African American women in Los Angeles and New York set in the near future (Angela Flournoy), King Frederic V of Bohemia, whose brief reign set in motion the Thirty Years’ War (Daniel Kehlmann), a family of American servicemen (Salvatore Scibona); and a collection of poems (Sally Wen Mao).

“We greatly look forward to having this terrific group of people in residence at the Center and the Library,” said Jean Strouse, the Sue Ann and John Weinberg Director of the Cullman Center. “The range of these projects reflects the fantastically rich nature of NYPL’s research collections, and the ongoing cross-disciplinary conversation among fellows is sure to be productive and exciting.”

The Center fosters an atmosphere of creative and scholarly collaboration both within the Library and in the larger cultural environment of New York, through informal lunch-time talks and public Conversations from the Cullman Center, a series of free evening programs that focus on the books Fellows worked on while in residence at the Library.

Cullman Center Fellows often receive distinguished honors and awards for these books. Prize-winning and prominent past Fellows include: Andre Aciman, Elif Batuman, Sven Beckert, Thomas Bender, David Blight, Ian Buruma, Robyn Cresswell, Brent Hayes Edwards, Jennifer Egan, Nathan Englander, James Fenton, Hal Foster, Ian Frazier, Rivka Galchen, Keith Gessen, Annette Gordon-Reed, Anthony Grafton, Greg Grandin, Farah Jasmine Griffin, Patrick Radden Keefe, Stephen Kotkin, Nicole Krauss, Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Hermione Lee, Megan Marshall, Ayana Mathis, Colum McCann, Richard McGuire, Pankaj Mishra, Joseph O’Neill, Téa Obreht, Gary Panter, Darryl Pinckney, Lauren Redniss, Karen Russell, Saïd Sayrafiezadeh, Stacy Schiff, Danzy Senna, James Shapiro, Adam Shatz, Dash Shaw, Mark Stevens, T.J. Stiles, John Jeremiah Sullivan, Colm Tóibín, Wells Tower, and Colson Whitehead.

For more information about the Center, its current and former Fellows, and its programs for teachers and the general public, visit



No comments yet.

Leave a comment