Download PDF Sampler

ISBN: 9781907773716

Tags: , , ,

The Redemption of Galen Pike

Carys Davies

“Every story in this stunning collection is a gem and completely unlike what follows or precedes it. Davies’ diversity shows no bounds as she takes us from jails in the Wild West to a meeting with Queen Victoria, from Australian isolated farms to snowy Siberia where each time we meet fantastic characters with unlikely and unexpected tales to tell. I loved every single one.”

Simon Savidge, blogger and journalist


In a remote Australian settlement a young wife with an untellable secret reluctantly invites her neighbour into her home. A Quaker spinster offers companionship to a condemned man in a Colorado jail. In the ice and snows of Siberia an office employee from Birmingham witnesses a scene that will change her life. At a jubilee celebration in a northern English town a middle-aged alderman opens his heart to Queen Victoria. A teenage daughter leaves home in search of adventure. High in the Cumbrian fells a woman seeks help from her father’s enemy.
Spare, precise, charged with a prickly wit, the stories in Carys Davies’s sparkling second collection remind us how little we know of the lives of others.


About Carys Davies:

CarysDaviesCarys Davies was the winner of the the 2010 Society of Authors’ Olive Cook Short Story Award, the 2011 Royal Society of Literature’s V S Pritchett Memorial Prize, and a 2013 Northern Writers’ Award. She has been shortlisted and longlisted for many other prizes including the Calvino Prize, the Manchester Fiction Prize, the Roland Mathias Prize, the Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award, the Wales Book of the Year, and the William Trevor/Elizabeth Bowen Prize. Born in Wales, she now lives in Lancaster.

The Redemption of Galen Pike is published by Salt.